It’s Okay Not To Be Okay by Sheila Walsh

Spread the love

It’s Okay Not to Be Okay: Moving Forward One Day at a Time by Sheila Walsh

A book review of It's Okay Not To Be Okay by Sheila WalshStars: ****

Baker Books (2018)
194 pages
Christian Living/Women

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This post contains affiliate links.

Summary: When Sheila Walsh discovered “I’m not good enough and I’m good with that,” everything started to change. We’ve all experienced that moment when we wish we could start all over again. Failed marriages, lost friends, addictions, lost jobs. This is not the life we imagined. Yesterday can leave us stuck, sad, shamed, scared, and searching. Sheila wants you to face the pain head-on and then start again, from right where you are.

In It’s Okay Not to Be Okay, she helps you overcome the same old rut of struggles and pain by changing the way you think about God, yourself, and your everyday life. She shares practical, doable, daily strategies that will help you move forward one step at a time, knowing God will never let you down. It’s never too late to start again . . . and there is healing and freedom in just taking the first step.

It’s Okay Not to Be Okay

This book is for those who are not okay but are ashamed of the fact or are worried about what it means. It’s also for those who struggle with understanding what God things of their situation but aren’t sure what to do.

There are 8 chapters:

  1. Take the First Step
  2. Admit That You Are Stuck and Struggling
  3. Change the Way You Think
  4. Face the What-Ifs Even If You Are Afraid
  5. Let Go of What You Can’t Control
  6. Rise Above Disappointment
  7. Celebrate Your Scars as Tattoos of Triumph
  8. Decide to Start Again… and Again.

Throughout the book, Sheila shares stories from her life and wisdoms she’s gleaned in her 60 years of life. Her stories are interesting and full of lessons which she shares.

I really enjoyed Chapter 5 which was like a short bible study on Joseph in the book of Genesis. I’ve read that story many times but I feel like I really understand it in a better way now.

I also wanted to share something from Chapter 6.

” I used to question God when I met someone who was in as much pain as the mom who had recently buried her son. How could God allow these things to happen? I struggled because I used my human understanding to try to understand the divine plans and ways of God. I’ll never know enough about Him this side of eternity to make everything crystal clear. So I don’t question anymore. Instead, I pray for them, often with tears running down my face, and I worship God in that sacred space of not understanding.” – pg 122

“I’m not living by faith if I have an answer to everything.”

Have you ever felt that way? I think we all struggle with those thoughts from time to time but Sheila is right, we have only human understanding so of course we don’t fully understand why things happen the way they do. We aren’t meant to. Living by faith means we have faith in God, no matter what happens or what we don’t understand.

Also the end of each chapter has a few tasks to do to help you comprehend what you read.

This was a good read and will help anyone who is NOT okay to feel better about their situation and their relationship with God.

Buy It’s Okay Not To Be Okay at and help support the blog.

About Kathleen

I've been a nonfiction lover for as long as I can remember. I love children's nonfiction as well and love to share my knowledge and the books I gained them from, with the world. I wish more people would give nonfiction a chance.